Guest Post: The Lord’s Prayer

Today’s guest post is a testimony from one of our members at FCBC.

I have prayed the Lord’s Prayer my entire life.  However, it was not until the recent sermon series on the Lord’s Prayer that I was able to appreciate more fully what Jesus was teaching me about prayer.  Learning to pray “Thy will be done” has had, perhaps, the most significant impact.

I used to pray “Thy will be done” in a sort of “WHATEVER!” kind of way when God didn’t seem to take my advice.  Now, when I pray “Thy will be done,” I have to, first, desire that God’s will, not mine, be done.

In order for that to happen, I need to love him completely, and trust Him completely.

I need to realize that my understanding of what should be done is limited to my sensibilities, whereas God’s knowledge of what should be done is perfect.

I learned that praying “Thy will be done” is what we would all be praying if we knew what God knew; when we trust in him fully, it’s easy to earnestly pray for God’s will to be done and truly desire it.

– Jennie

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

